Tuesday, December 6, 2016

"Fatal Frost," by Nancy Mehl

"Fatal Frost," by Nancy Mehl


Following in her absentee father's footsteps in a law enforcement career, U.S. Marshal Mercy Brennan has just recovered from being shot in the line of duty. And, unbeknownst to her, her father's recent reappearance in her life has put her in the sights of St. Louis's most powerful gang. Her boss assigns Deputy U.S. Marshal Mark St. Laurent--Mercy's ex-boyfriend--to get her out of town until her safety can be guaranteed. 

Unaware of the extent her boss and Mark have been keeping her in the dark, it isn't until a freak ice storm strands them at a remote location and out of contact with the district office that the full severity of their situation becomes clear. As the storm worsens, the forces of nature combine with a deadly enemy to put them in great danger. Can they survive long enough for help to arrive--if help is even coming at all?


This is the first book in the Defenders Of Justice series by Nancy.  It is a fast paced book, full of action and suspense.  Never sure what is going to happen next or who anyone should trust.  Thought it was very apt reviewing this in December when the winter season is about to hit with winter storms.  Helped visualize everything, I thought.

The only thing I thought was a little strange, at least for me, was that I thoroughly enjoyed the book while reading it; but looking back and going over the story again, I wasn't as thrilled about the book?  I guess I was picking apart the story line more on reflection?

Stars out of 5 : 4.5 I didn't figure out a few things until it was pointed out in the book; which is a good thing in my books.  I am looking forward to the second book in this series which is out in May of 2017.  I think this book would be even better when read at night in a snow storm.....but that's just a suggestion...LOL

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"The Christmas Angel Project," by Melody Carlson

"The Christmas Angel Project," by Melody Carlson

Abby Wentworth is the glue that holds her book club together. So when she unexpectedly passes away on the cusp of the Christmas season, the rest of the women in the group are stunned, saddened, and sure that, without her, the group can't continue.

They gather "one last time" to open gifts Abby left behind, little knowing how it will change each of their lives--forever.


If you want to read an uplifting book, that makes you feel good with Christmas spirit this is the book for you.  You will be able to read it in an afternoon or two and I think you will find there is a part of you in this book.  It truly says what the spirit of Christmas is; and it is giving to others.  How you do give to others differs in each one of us and as this book shows us, no matter what you do, as long as you give with love and kindness what you get back is a bonus.

I enjoy Melody's books and this is another winner in my books.

Stars out of 5 : 5 This would make a lovely Christmas gift and I know for me put in the Christmas mood.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Thursday, October 27, 2016

"Wild Montana Skies," by Susan May Warren

"Wild Montana Skies," by Susan May Warren

The last thing Search and Rescue helicopter pilot Kacey Fairing needs upon returning home to Mercy Falls, Montana, is to run into her mistakes. After a devastating crash during her recent military tour in Afghanistan, she is emotionally broken but ready to start putting her life back together. She just wants to reconnect with her teenage daughter and spend the summer working as the new lead pilot of PEAK Rescue in Glacier National Park.

But her mistakes aren't so easily forgotten. Because Ben King is also back in town.

Country music star Ben King abandoned his past when he moved to Nashville thirteen years ago to start his career. He hoped to heal his broken heart, caused by losing the woman he loved. But when his father is injured, Ben is called home to help manage PEAK Rescue during his recovery. He doesn't realize his father has ulterior motives until his old flame, Kacey, walks into his house and back into his heart.

Now, with Mercy Falls in a state of emergency due to flash floods, Kacey and Ben will have to work together to save lives. But when secrets are uncovered and old hurts rise to the surface, will they walk away again? Or can they find a different ending to their country love song?


Have to say I enjoyed this book.  There is plenty of action to keep you interested and the details of the search and rescue was very informative.  Love the two main characters Kacey and Ben with all the tension between them.  Very well written; you will guess the outcome there.  

This is the first book in the Montana Rescue Series and I will say I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.  The way this book finishes there is so much more to be told.  It was a good introduction to all the characters, without getting away from the love story between Kacey and Ben.

Stars out of 5 : 4.5 A solid book, good storyline, not overly complicated but interesting enough to keep you wanting more.  Well worth the read!

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

"The Wish," by Beverly Lewis

"The Wish," by Beverly Lewis


Leona Speicher got the "sister" she always dreamed of the day Gloria Gingerich and her family moved to Lancaster County. The Arkansas newcomers seem to be the answer to Leona's prayers--until Gloria's father is expelled from their Old Order Amish church for reasons no one will discuss. Much to Leona's dismay, the Gingeriches suddenly pack up and disappear. Then, after a silence of several years, Gloria unexpectedly contacts Leona, who makes up her mind to go after her friend. Yet Leona's fiancé--the deacon's son--is alarmed. Will Leona's dearest wish lead to her own undoing?

Over the years I have read countless Amish themed books to the point where I had become sick of them.  It's been a while since I have read one, so thought I'd review this one to see if anything has changed.  I am pleased to say it has.  This book had a little different take on the "normal" Amish theme, but still kept the premise of a typical Amish book.

Leona and Gloria are such good characters and the way they are described makes them come alive to the reader.  This type of book always makes me want to have a simpler life and it does make you think what modern conveniences could you do without?

Stars out of 5 : 4 I did enjoy this book, it made a nice change from the other books I reviewed this month and with Beverly you can always count on a good read.  It had enough drama in it, that you needed to know what happened next, but at the same time it wasn't a hectic book, it made you feel at peace; mainly because of the way everything was described.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

"Traces of Guilt," by Dee Henderson

"Traces of Guilt," by Dee Henderson
Evie Blackwell loves her life as an Illinois State Police detective . . . mostly. She's very skilled at investigations and has steadily moved up through the ranks. She would like to find Mr. Right, but she has a hard time imagining how marriage could work, considering the demands of her job.

Gabriel Thane grew up in Carin County and is now its sheriff, a job he loves. Gabe is committed to upholding the law and cares deeply for the residents he's sworn to protect. He too would like to find a lifetime companion, a marriage like his parents have. . . .

When Evie arrives in Carin, Illinois, it's to help launch a new task force focused on unsolved crimes across the state. She will work with the sheriff's department on a couple of its most troubling missing-persons cases. As she studies old evidence to pull out a few tenuous new leads, she unearths surprising connections. One way or another, she knows Gabriel Thane and his family will be key to the answers she seeks.


I really enjoyed this book, there were so  many twists and turns in it that the story kept you on the edge of your seat trying to figure out who/what was going to happen/turn up next.  I have read Dee's books before and this one is of the same high calibre.  The main characters were compelling and they worked well together and each character could have a book written about them on their own, as their back stories were so interesting.  This book is the first in the "Evie Blackwell Cold Case," series; I can't wait to read the next one, as it was that good.

Stars out of 5 : 5 This is a must read book in my opinion.  It is a "meaty" book that just begs to have the next page turned so you can see what will happen next.  Go out and buy the book or borrow it from your local library you will not be disappointed.


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

"This Road We Traveled," by Jane Kirkpatrick

"This Road We Traveled," by Jane Kirkpatrick

Tabitha Brown refuses to be left behind in Missouri when her son makes the decision to strike out for Oregon--even if she has to hire her own wagon to join the party. After all, family ties are stronger than fear.

Along with her reluctant daughter and her ever-hopeful granddaughter, the intrepid Tabitha has her misgivings. The trials they face along the way will severely test her faith, courage, and ability to hope. With her family's survival on the line, she must make the ultimate sacrifice, plunging deeper into the wilderness to seek aid. What she couldn't know was how this frightening journey would impact how she understood her own life--and the greater part she had to play in history.


This book is divided up into three parts.  Before the journey, the journey and after the journey.  I am a huge fan of this type of book but, I found the first part of the book overly long winded and not very interesting.  I enjoyed the other two parts more, so persevere as it does get a lot better.

As this book is based on a true story, it was interesting to see what they went through and how hard life was back then.  It makes you think if you would be willing to go through the same journey for a new life?  The fact that you may never see some members of your family again, seems unthinkable; but I guess that does happen even nowadays?

Jane Kirkpatrick unearths some very interesting stories, and it is truly worthwhile reading the authors notes and acknowledgements at the end of the book.  From a historical point of view this book was very interesting and the way Jane has described the different events makes sense.

Stars out of 5 : 4 Other than the first part of the book, I thoroughly enjoyed this and would say it is well worth reading.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Sunday, October 9, 2016

"A Lady Unrivaled," by Roseanna M White

"A Lady Unrivaled," by Roseanna M White


Lady Ella Myerston can always find a reason to smile--even if it's just in hope that tomorrow will be better than today. All her life everyone has tried to protect her from the realities of the world, but Ella knows very well how the dangerous Fire Eyes diamonds have haunted her brother and their friends, and she won't wait for peril to strike again. She intends to take action . . . and if that happens to involve an adventurous trip to the Cotswolds, then so much the better.

Lord James Cayton has already broken two hearts, including that of his first wife, who died before he could convince himself to love her. Now he's determined to live a better life . . . but that proves complicated when old acquaintances pull Cayton into their desperate attempt to seize the jewels. He does his best to remove the intriguing Lady Ella from danger, but the stubborn girl won't budge. How else can he redeem himself, though, but by saving her--and his daughter--from those intent on destroying them all?


This is the third book in the "Ladies of the Manor," series.  I have not read the first two books in the series, and although it would be helpful, it is not necessary.  This is a good book, if you are a fan of Downton Abby you will love this type of book.  When you see the cast of characters at the front of the book it seemed a bit daunting to me at first, but it all comes together quite nicely.

It moves along at a nice pace and there are plenty of up and downs to keep it interesting.  The main cast of characters work well together and I do feel there could be more books in this series if needed.  

Stars out of 5: 3  Its a good book, but I probably won't remember it in a month or two.  It's a good book to read over a few afternoons.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"The Domino Effect," by Davis Bunn

"The Domino Effect," by Davis Bunn
Esther Larsen, a top risk analyst at one of the country's largest banking institutions, is becoming more and more convinced that she has uncovered a ticking bomb with the potential to make the 2008 market crash look minor by comparison. And as her own employer pursues "investment" strategies with ever-increasing levels of risk, she becomes convinced she must do something. But Esther is only one person; can she stand up to an international conspiracy of greed? And if she does, will anyone take her seriously?

Every moment of indecision edges the markets closer to a tipping point--the teetering first domino in a standing row that circles the globe. And when Esther finds her voice, those she seeks to expose will not sit idly by. With global markets on the brink, and her own life in danger, Esther is locked in a race against the clock to avert a financial tsunami that threatens worldwide devastation.


This book is a must read, not because it is a fast paced read and very interesting, but because this could very well happen in the world, another another financial market crash.

I personally do not know much about stock markets and trading and other banking details, I am one of your "joe public" investors, but this book really makes you think that maybe I should pay a lot more attention in what is really going on.  It also brings to light how only a few people can really change the world with a telephone call; which to my mind is frightening.

As with anything a few bad apples can upset the cart and greed is a motivator for a lot of people.  This book highlights this.  It takes a special person to work in the field of banking and Esther showed that.  While reading this book I kept thinking about how the author must have conceived this book and what a great imagination he has.  In reality though I think he has a great insight into this subject.

Stars out of 5 : 5 This book makes you think first and foremost.  I am afraid that the side story of Esther's brother although adds humanity to the story is not a focus; well not for me.  It is well worth a read and one I will recommend to others.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Tuesday, September 13, 2016

"A Heart Most Certain," by Melissa Jagears

"A Heart Most Certain," by Melissa Jagears


Lydia King knows what it's like to be in need, so she joins the Teaville Moral Society hoping to help the town's poor. But with her father's debts increasing by the day and her mother growing sicker by the week, she wonders how long it will be until she ends up in the poorhouse herself. Her best chance at a financially secure future is to impress the politician courting her, and it certainly doesn't hurt that his mother is the moral society's president. Lydia's first task as a moral society member--to obtain a donation from Nicholas Lowe, the wealthiest man in town--seems easy . . . until the man flat-out refuses.

Despite appearances, Nicholas wants to help others but prefers to do it his own way, keeping his charity private. When Lydia proves persistent, they agree to a bargain, though Nicholas has a few surprises up his sleeve. Neither foresees the harrowing complications that will arise from working together, and when town secrets are brought to light, this unlikely pair must decide where their beliefs--and hearts--truly align.


When I think back to when I read this book my first thought about Nicholas is "never judge a book by it's cover."  Also the saying "practice what you preach" comes to mind about the Teaville Moral Society.  For the historical point of view this was very interesting especially what "working women" had to go through in the late 1800's, and how these women's children suffered.

Also it brought to mind another saying, "but by the Grace of God, we could be in that position, about the character Lydia and her mother.  There were other valuable lessons weaved into this book, that we could all use and were a good reminder.

The characters were easy to love and the story easy to follow.  This book is the first book in the "Teaville Moral Society," series.

Stars out of 5 : 4 Good book, plenty to keep you interested and not overly taxing on the brain.  Looking forward to reading her next book in the series.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"The Artisan's Wife," by Judith Miller

"The Artisan's Wife," by Judith Miller


Ainslee McKay's world is upended when her twin sister secretly elopes and leaves Ainslee alone to move to Weston, West Virginia, to fulfill their obligation at the McKay family's new tile works. While her brother, Ewan, agrees to travel with her and help her learn the ropes, she still intends to sell this business she no longer wants if a buyer can be found.

When the talented Levi Judson arrives to show Ainslee his designs for new tiles, she's impressed at his skill and passion for the business but feels she must keep her true plans for the business a secret from him. And though Levi hopes for a long, successful career at McKay Tile Works, he's hiding his true reason for coming to Weston. Can the growing feelings between them survive if the truth comes to light--or is a future together as untenable as the future of the tile works itself?


This is the third book in the "Refined By Love," series and I have read them all.  They are good as stand alone books as well as reading them in order of the series.  The characters do flow from one book to another and each have a theme and are set in West Virginia.  I enjoyed the historical facts/references to mental institutions and how the author included details of why some people we put into the Asylum.  Many by the way for very petty reasons.

The mystery about Levi, wasn't really a mystery to my mind.  The love story between Ainslee and Levi, was pretty straight forward and the book itself was an easy read.  I am glad I read them all and it is well worth either buying them or borrowing them from the library.

Stars out of 5 : 4 This is one of my shopping list books.  One where I can read this and think of other things at the same time.  It's a good relaxing book to read over a couple of afternoons.  I am personally a fan of Judith Miller's book.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"A Tapestry of Secrets," by Sarah Loudin Thomas

"A Tapestry of Secrets," by Sarah Loudin Thomas
For decades, Perla Phillips has hidden the truth of a decision that still fills her with guilt. But now, seeing her granddaughter, Ella, struggle in a similar way, she's prepared to finally open the past to her family, no matter the consequences. But when the opportunity is snatched from her in a most unexpected manner, will she have waited too long?

Spanning generations, this moving family drama weaves together the interlocking stories of two women as they navigate relationships, family, faith, and the choices that will shape their lives. Heartwarming and nostalgic, the story explores the courage to share the wounds of the past and celebrates the legacy a family passes from one generation to the next. 


My first thought about this book was " you never know what is around the corner."  This book explains this oh so well, when Perla is taken ill.  Also keeping secrets may at the time seem like a good idea, but it will come back and bite you in the butt later down the line.

This book was a nice read, but I can honestly say I had forgotten I had read it.  I read it at the end of last month and hadn't gotten around to posting a review, so had to really think back to remember what this book was all about. 

I thought Ella was such a strong person with strong convictions, who needed to be around her family to grow.  The bond between her and her grandmother was so special, and one I hope to have with my granddaughters.  

Stars out of 5 : 4 I read it over a couple of days and I enjoyed it, but it's not a book I will remember down the road.  If you like books about family bonding this is one for you.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Thursday, August 11, 2016

"Scent to Kill," by Chrystle Fiedler

"Scent to Kill," by Chrystle Fiedler

When naturopathic doctor and shop owner Willow McQuade’s ex-boyfriend Simon Lewis invites her to a party for the cast and crew of a new television show at Long Island’s scenic Bixby Estate, she’s most excited to visit the property’s exclusive lavender farm. But a whole field of her favorite stress-reducing herb can’t provide enough soothing support to calm the effects of a murder!

Even the show’s psychic star didn’t predict the demise of Roger Bixby, the estate’s owner and estranged husband of Simon’s new girlfriend. Now Simon, who’s been collared by police, needs Willow’s help to remedy the situation. As Willow snoops about the mansion, offering natural cures to ease the mounting tension, a strange energy—and the discovery of an eerily similar unsolved murder decades earlier—makes her wonder whether the alternative source of the crime might actually be . . . supernatural. Can she find harmony between mind, body, and possibly even spirits before somebody else goes up in smoke?


This book was a mix of enjoying it and being confused with it.  I don't claim to know anything about naturopathic medicine, so was looking forward to learning about it.  At the beginning of each chapter "Dr. McQuade" gave you tips about healthy living and what to take for various ailments.  I ended up being very confused with all the tips and don't feel as though I learned anything.

The story was written in first person, and for some reason I found that annoying.  Plus there was far too much information.  Do I really need to know that Willow was changing the bed sheets when it had absolutely nothing to do with the story.  In this case less information would have been better.

The story itself was interesting and I never did figure out "who did it," so that was a good thing.  

Stars out of 5 : 3 I had hoped I would like this book better than I did.  I would read more in this series as the whole premise of this series is my kind of story.


Wednesday, August 3, 2016

"No Way Up," by Mary Connealy

"No Way Up," by Mary Connealy

The Fight for the Cimarron Ranch Has Just Begun!
When Cimarron Ranch patriarch Chance Boden is caught in an avalanche, only the quick actions of hired hand Heath Kincaid save him. Before leaving by train to receive treatment to save his leg--and possibly his life--Chance demands that Heath read the patriarch's will and see its conditions enforced immediately. If Chance's three bickering adult children, Justin, Sadie, and Cole, don't live and work at the ranch for an entire year, ownership of the ranch will pass to a despised distant relative. 

Before long, however, Heath discovers that the avalanche may have been intentionally set--and that more danger lurks ominously. Finding his own future--and a desired future with Sadie--locked up in saving the Cimarron Ranch, Heath and the Boden siblings must work together against outside forces that threaten them all.


I happen to be a big fan of Mary Connealy's books and this one didn't disappoint.  This is the first book in the Cimarron Legacy series and the way this book ended you are going to want to read the next book in the series Long Time Gone, which will not be released until March of 2017.

If you love books set in the late 1800's, cowboys, mysteries and a love story thrown in for good measure this book is for you.  I liked how she finished this book with part of the story done, but leaving you hanging with the mystery part, that you know you have to read the next book to see what happens next.  This book has plenty of action in it, that you had to turn the page to see what was going to happen next.

Stars out of 5 : 4.5 Very good, leaves you wanting more, which too my mind is the sign of a good author and gets you very involved with the story and the characters, so much so you are cheering them all on from the side lines.  Well worth the read!

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"What Matters Most," by Kellie Coates Gilbert

"What Matters Most," by Kellie Coates Gilbert
Finding her dream job went right out the window when Leta Breckenridge had to quit school to help care for her mother suffering from dementia. When a delinquent account may force her mother into a less desirable facility, Leta is thrilled to land a high-paying job at an Austin public relations firm. But her seemingly ideal job turns into a nightmare when she learns the firm is a front for a political opposition organization--and that the research she's been collecting will be used against Nathan Emerson, the handsome senator she's swiftly falling in love with.

Nathan is a rising political star being pressured to run a bid to unseat the current governor of Texas. He's already in a relationship with a woman much better suited to be a politician's wife, but he's never met anyone like Leta. Could this feisty woman hold the key to his heart--and his future?


I thought this book was appropriate delving into the political in and outs, with what is going on in the United States at the moment.  All the back room dealing and wheeling was interesting to say the least.  I am quite sure there are things that were mentioned in this book that is probably happening in the "real world," now.  It must be very hard to maintain a high standard of ethics when in politics?

The other part of the story with the dementia aspect hits on a couple of points which is also relevant in today's times.  Trying to find a GOOD home for a dementia sufferer is extremely hard, especially if you don't have endless funds to pay for it like Leta.  Leta had to work two or three jobs to help pay for her mother's care.

This book is part of the Texas Gold series.  I have not read any of the others in the series and from what I could see you don't have too, one book does not follow the other.

Stars out of 5 : 4  It was an enjoyable book, covering a couple of interesting subjects.  Then add the love story into it and although not too taxing on the brain, it's one of those books to read over a couple of afternoons.  Will I remember in a couple of months time; no.  Still, it's well worth the read.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Thursday, July 7, 2016

"From This Moment," by Elizabeth Camden

"From This Moment," by Elizabeth Camden


Stella West's artistic talent made her the toast of London, but when her beloved sister dies under mysterious circumstances she abandons everything and heads for Boston. With single-minded determination she fights to pierce the ring of secrecy surrounding her sister's death. Upon meeting Romulus White, a publisher with connections into every important power circle in the city, she quickly realizes he could be a valuable ally in navigating Boston society.

Romulus has been pursuing Stella for years to create art for his magazine. Her luminous illustrations are the missing piece he needs to propel his magazine to the forefront of the industry, and he will stop at nothing to get her on board. 

Sparks fly the instant they join forces, but Romulus is unsettled by the unwelcome attraction he feels toward Stella, fearing she might be the one woman who could disrupt his hard-won independence. He may have finally met his match in Stella, but is helping her solve the mystery of her sister's death worth the risk to his publishing empire?


This book was interesting as I learned a little about Subway's.  The moral of this story I thought, was to listen to your "gut feelings," which is something I always do.  Stella was an interesting character with immense strength and convictions and it didn't matter who got in her way, she was going to solve her sisters death.  So Romulus as the leading male character was a perfect match for her.  

I found the little details in this book interesting and well thought out.  For example the way the author described the wooden floors Romulus has installed at the office.  May seem like a minor thing but was well thought out.  The "who dunit and why," of this story I didn't figure out until it was revealed, and then it was a "oh that's why that was included in the story."

Stars out of 5 : 4.5 Quite liked this book as it was a little different to other's I have read this month.  The little details made it more real.  Good book to read to fill in an afternoon or two.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"No Other Will Do," by Karen Witemeyer

"No Other Will Do," by Karen Witemeyer
Men are optional. That was the credo Emma Chandler's suffragette aunts taught her and why she established Harper's Station, a women's colony that offers a fresh start to females in need. But when a dangerous and shadowy assailant tries repeatedly to drive the women out, Emma is forced to admit they might need a man after all. One who can fight. And there is only one man she trusts enough to ask.

Malachi Shaw has finally earned the respect he's always craved by becoming an explosives expert for the railroad. Yet when Emma's telegram arrives, he rushes back to Texas to repay the girl who once saved his life. Only she's not a girl any longer. She's a woman with a mind of her own and a smile that makes a man imagine a future he doesn't deserve.

As the danger intensifies, Emma, Mal, and the ladies of Harper's Station must choose safety or whether to risk everything to fight for their future.


The moral of this story is that in a "man's world," a woman can succeed when she puts her mind to it.  However if danger looms and other's may suffer, ask for help and this is what Emma did in this novel.  I like the author's work and have read many of her books.  This book had it's ups and downs in the story; the whole women's colony was a bit far fetched for me.  It kept me interested without making me think too much.  I read it in a day and I enjoyed the book.

Stars out of 5:4 I will probably not remember this month by next month, but it was a pleasant read and by an author I enjoy.  Well worth picking up.


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"A Haven on Orchard Lane," by Lawana Blackwell

"A Haven on Orchard Lane," by Lawana Blackwell


Famed actress Charlotte Ward stepped away from the Victorian London stage five years ago. Now in desperate circumstances, she tries to restart her career--only to experience a complete collapse. Against her better judgment, Charlotte's estranged daughter, Rosalind, comes to her mother's rescue and moves her to a quiet English coastal village where her mother can evade the gossip columnists, at least for a time. 

Charlotte is grateful to re-establish even tenuous family ties with Rosalind. As one with regrets over her own romantic past, she's happy to see love blossom for her daughter. For Rosalind, however, it's time away from teaching, and now she must care for the mother who wasn't there for her. And what could possibly be more complicated than romance?

But there can be no permanent escape from the threats of recent months. As the privacy they seek is threatened, mother and daughter must make some difficult decisions--ones that jeopardize those they care about most.


I found the start of the book a little confusing in part because more and more character's were introduced.  Now later in the book you got how their lives were intertwined, but when they first appeared you wondered why?  The setting of this book in an English coastal village and the picture on the cover of the book, made for a pleasant setting where the pace of life was slower.  I enjoyed that.

I read the book in just over a day.  It doesn't over tax the brain and it's a perfect book to read by the pool or in front of a fire.  I have never read anything by this author before; but will look for her other books.  I did find the relationship between Rosalind and Charlotte forced, as they went from estrangement to reconciled practically overnight.  Not sure that would happen in real life?

Stars out of 5 : 4 I will not remember this book next month, but it was a nice way to spend a few hours.

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"An Elegant Facade," by Kristi Ann Hunter

"An Elegant Facade," by Kristi Ann Hunter


Lady Georgina Hawthorne has always known she must marry well. After years of tirelessly planning every detail of her debut season, she is poised to be a smashing success and have her choice of eligible gentlemen. 

With money and powerful business connections but no title, Colin McCrae is invited everywhere but accepted nowhere. He intends to marry someday, but when he does it will not be to a shallow woman like Lady Georgina, whose only concerns appear to be status and appearance.

But beneath her flawless exterior, Georgina's social aspirations stem from a shameful secret she is desperately trying to keep hidden--and that Colin is too close to discovering. Drawn to each other despite their mutual intent to avoid association, is the realization of their dreams worth the sacrifices they'll be forced to make?


This is the second book in the Hawthorne House series by this author.  It carries on from the first book but if you haven't read the first book all is not lost.  You will click what the "shameful secret," is but there are enough other things going on in the book to keep it interesting.  I read this book in a day.  It's neither too long, or a hard story to follow.  Will I remember this book in the months to come..........well I finally clicked I had read the first book in the series after a while, but couldn't remember the full story behind it; so I am guessing this will be the same.

Stars out of 5 : 4 A great book to read on a summer's day or on a cold winter's day.  Not too taxing on the brain and enough going on in the book to keep you interested.


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

"A Treasure Concealed," by Tracie Peterson

"A Treasure Concealed," by Tracie Peterson

Emily Carver longs to have a home of her own, but instead she endures a transient existence in the gold mining camps of Montana, where her father's hopes for riches lie endlessly buried. Promises of wealth from this wild land have brought only hardship and disappointment, causing Emily to wonder if her own modest dreams will ever see the light of day.

Caeden Thibault, a young geologist working for the government, is a man trying to escape the pain of his past, and the idyllic mountains of Montana serve his purposes well. In the course of his work, he has seen more than his share of starry-eyed gold seekers. So when Emily Carver catches his attention, he is intrigued by the fact that she isn't pinning her hopes on striking it rich.

Will an unexpected discovery come between them or draw them together?


This was an okay book.  Nothing overly exciting and you could easily guess what was going to happen next.  I did enjoy the description of everyday life in Montana.  I did not know there were sapphire's in Montana?  So that was something new I learned.

This is the first book in the series and honestly I am not fussed either way whether I want to read the next two books when they come out.  I did enjoy Emily, and thought her resourcefulness and strength made her a character to love.

Stars out of 5 : 3 This is a pleasant book to read in an afternoon or two.  However it is one of those books I won't remember in the next month or two. 

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc. 

Available at your favourite bookseller from Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group
".

"The Red Door Inn," by Liz Johnson

"The Red Door Inn," by Liz Johnson


Marie Carrington is broke, desperate, and hoping to find sanctuary on Prince Edward Island while decorating a renovated bed-and-breakfast. Seth Sloane moved three thousand miles to help restore his uncle's Victorian B and B--and to forget about the fiancée who broke his heart. He wasn't expecting to have to babysit a woman with a taste for expensive antiques and a bewildering habit of jumping every time he brushes past her.

The only thing Marie and Seth agree on is that getting the Red Door Inn ready to open in just two months will take everything they've got--and they have to find a way to work together. In the process, they may find something infinitely sweeter than they ever imagined on this island of dreams.


When I started this book, I wasn't 100% sure about it, but the more I got into the book, the more I loved it.  I have never been to Prince Edward Island, but after reading this book, it's on my "to visit" list. 

Marie's character started out very wishy-washy to my mind, but the more you got into the book, the more you saw her reveal her inner strength and resilience.  I loved the character "Aretha Franklin. No relation to the singer."  She was a real fire cracker and such a good friend to everyone.  As was Caden; in fact all the characters were well thought out and made sense to the story.

This is the first book in the Prince Edward Island Dreams series, and looking at the preview of the second book, that one looks good as well.

Stars out of 5 : 4.5, I felt the start of the book was a little weak, but it picked up after the first couple of chapters.  I liked strong Marie a lot better than weak Marie.  Well worth the read though.  

"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

"Annabel Lee" by Mike Nappa

"Annabel Lee" by Mike Nappa
Fourteen miles east of Peachtree, Alabama, a secret is hidden.

The secret's name is Annabel Lee.
She doesn't know why her enigmatic uncle has stowed her deep underground in a military-style bunker. He's left her with a few German words, a barely controlled guard dog, and a single command: "Don't open that door for anybody, you got it? Not even me."

Miles away in Atlanta, private investigator Trudi Coffey is visited by a mysterious older man calling himself Dr. Smith. He's been trailing a man for a decade--a man she met through her ex-partner Samuel Hill--and the trail has led him to her office. The last thing Trudi wants to do is to contact Samuel. But it will take both of them to unravel this mystery--before it's too late.


This book has you hooked from the get go.  You have to know what is going to happen next as it is such a page turner.  All the characters suck you in.  Although there are multiple characters their exploits are so easy to follow.  The pace of this book gets faster and faster and you want to jump in with them to help them along with the next stage.

I found the premise of this story interesting as well as all the details in it.  Which made me realize why I love reading books and not writing them!

It's been a while since I have enjoyed a book as much as this one.  It is my first time reading a book by Mike Nappa, but it won't be my last.  The next in the "Coffey and Hill," series is out in September of 2016, I can't wait to read it.

Stars out of 5 : 5 I would give it 100 if I could.  It really is a great book and well worth the read.  You'll love it.


"Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.

Available at your favourite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group".

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

Once Upon a Flock by Lauren Scheuer

Once Upon a Flock, by Lauren Scheuer
When longtime illustrator and lover of power tools Lauren Scheuer was looking for a project, she got the idea to raise backyard chickens. Her husband and teenage daughter looked on incredulously as coop sketches and chicken-raising books filled their New England home. But when the chicks arrived, the whole family fell in love with the bundles of fluff and the wild adventures began.
Once Upon a Flock: Life with My Soulful Chickens stars Scheuer’s backyard chickens—with their big personalities, friendships, rivalries, and secrets—and the flock’s guardian, Marky the terrier. The flock includes Hatsy, the little dynamo; Lil’White, the deranged and twisted Buff Orpington; Pigeon, the fixer-upper chicken; and Lucy, the special-needs hen who bonds with Lauren and becomes a fast friend.

This charming story of Lauren’s life with her quirky flock is filled with moments of humor and heartbreak: When Lucy is afflicted with a neurological disease, Lauren builds Lucy a special-needs coop. When Lucy’s nesting instinct leads

Lauren to act as a chicken midwife of sorts, Lauren hatches a chick in her home. And when Lucy’s best friend Hatsy falls ill, Lauren finds an unlikely friend for Lucy in a chicken named Pigeon, who requires an emergency bath and blow-dry. Enthusiastically immersing herself in the world of her flock, Lauren discovers that love, loss, passion, and resilience are not only parts of the human experience, but of the chicken experience as well. Throughout it all, Lauren documents the laughter and drama of her flock’s adventures with her own whimsical photos and illustrations. At once humorous, poignant, and informative,
Once Upon a Flock is a feathered tale like no other.

I have always wanted to keep chickens, so thought this book would give me some information about the subject.  I have to admit, I did get involved in the book right away, as the way Lauren writes, she makes you feel as though those chickens are real human beings, not just chickens.

Loved how each one had a personality, and how they become part of the family.  I was surprised that a book about three plus chickens could be so interesting but it really was.

Stars out of 5 : 5 If you have any interest in chickens this book is for you.  It really is quite addictive and you do need to know what is going to happen next.